So yeah.

We can probably say that we were the most tame people in Vegas. Not only did we pretty much make it back to the hotel room by around 10 or 11 each night, we also didn’t really explore as much as we had said we would. This was mostly due to time constraints (it took about 30 minutes to get from our room to the pool, let alone trying to explore the strip!).

So, Friday morning, we both woke up early and watched the sun rise. After getting up and getting dressed, we rode the monorail from our hotel to the Hilton, where we had planned to spend a little time checking out the Star Trek Experience. I had heard about it a few years back and always wondered what it was about, but I figured it would mostly just be retail stores. When I was looking up information about it this time, I found out that they are actually closing September 1st, so I was glad to get the chance to check it out. We figuered it was just going to take an hour or so…

But we were wrong. I know this won’t make too much sense to a lot of people, but as an old Star Trek nerd, this thing was amazing. It’s like seeing all your childhood memories come to life, and not being able to keep yourself from grinning your face off! I’ll try not to bore you with too many details (like I said, unless you were/are into Star Trek, you probably are thinking I’m a weirdo at this point), but suffice to say we spent ALL day there.

And now for the visual tour:

Welcome to Geek-Land!

Welcome to Geek-Land!

Oh and they did have retail shops…but we resisted…for the most part! Here is Brad trying on a jacket from the series…too expensive to buy though!

Brad ranked up to Admiral!

Brad ranked up to Admiral!

Overhead of the Star Trek Experience restaurant (named Quark’s Bar), were huge models of ships from the franchise…gotta love it!

The Ships!

(ask Brad and he'll annoyingly tell you the class of each ship...)

So, as I said, this place is closing on September 1st…I am actually really bummed about that because I would go back to Vegas just for this place! Here’s Brad holding up a menu from our lunch.

So Sad...

So Sad...

Lunch was a lot of fun there, everything had weird obscure names that geeks like us could laugh at…I ordered a pizza, which just happened to come out triangular.

This pizza must be from Romulus!

Pizza from Outer Space!

After lunch, we did the “rides” that they have…this was the part that makes you feel like a kid in a candy store…I won’t spoil it too much, but let’s just say hanging out on the bridge of the Enterprise-D was a surreal experience! We couldn’t take any pictures from the rides, as per Paramount copyright laws, but we did get to take some themed pictures – I’ll get those scanned later.

After getting pictures made, we did the backstage tour…again no pictures were allowed, but that was even more fun than the rides! Here’s Brad waiting for the tour to begin:

Welcome to my ship!

Welcome to my ship!

After our behind the scenes tour, we headed back to the hotel to change and then off to the Venetian Hotel to see Phantom. When I bought the tickets, I thought they were for Phantom of the Opera…but it turns out that this was a show made especially for Vegas where they cut out a lot of the original musical and turned it into a 95 minute version. It actually was pretty decent. If you had never seen the original, you wouldn’t know the difference. The performers were excellent as well. Again, no photography allowed, but I got a picture of the signage outside.

Phantom - Vegas Style!

Phantom - Vegas Style!

While we had been at lunch at the Star Trek Experience, we had seen an ad that simply said “Get Warped,” and had a picture of an insanely large (expensive!) drink. Brad of course had to have one, so we went back to the Hilton to grab dinner and a drink.

Where no Drink has gone before...

Where no Drink has gone before...

Ok so yeah I had to take a video of this massively insane drink:

Oh yeah, did I mention that they have a staff of a dozen or so actors that work to make your experience even more memorable?

Brad attracts the strangest gals...

Brad attracts the strangest gals...

An hour or so later, we headed back for the hotel (thank goodness for the monorail!). Of course on our way, Brad found the ONE actress that he had wanted to take a picture with. She was really great.

Brad's favorite Kinglon

Brad's favorite Kinglon

We made it back to the hotel and promptly fell asleep.

That, my bloggy friends, was our favorite day in Vegas. Sad, I know, that it centered around what many would not call a “good time,” but so amazing for us.

I have heard rumblings online that the Experience may find a new home someday…but I’m sure it will rely heavily on the success of the new movie coming out next year. Keep your fingers crossed for an old Trekker like me!

Oh, and yes, in the last week, Brad and I have watched Star Trek 2, 3, 4 and 5 as a result of this. Someone send us a pizza! ;)

Stay tuned, part three coming soon! ;)

